Songs I never skip

Many of you don’t know me, but those who do… could probably guess that I like to play lists on random, and in particularly my starred list on Spotify. My starred list is probably my most mixed playlist, because I listen to a lot of different songs.
But with a list of many different songs come many different moods, so you might understand that I skip a lot of songs. Though there are some songs that I never skip. I don’t know if it’s because of the mood, or if it’s simply how it starts, but there’s something about these songs that stop me.
These are the songs that I don’t intentionally put on, but I always end up playing if they happen to pop up. These are the songs I never skip.
So I’m just gonna list them right here. In no particular order.

1. The Polyphonic Spree – Lithium (Nirvana cover)

I’m not a particularly big fan of neither The Polyphonic Spree nor Nirvana, but first of all we can thank Kurt for giving this song a great tune, and we can think the Polyphonic Spree for their upbeat version of it. Great on both parts. I don’t think I’ve ever skipped it.

2. They Might Be Giants – The Statue Got Me High

Now, you might think obviously there would be a TMBG song on here, but I’ll tell you that it really wasn’t that obvious. I love all of TMBG’s songs, but my favourites usually only lasts a month or so, and I’ll be hooked on another song. I love them all but this always catches my ear.

3. Pixies – WhereIs My Mind

I grew up with this song, and I loved it since the first time I heard it. Usually the songs that I’ve heard countless times grow old and uninteresting, however this never seems to bore me. There’s something about that simple riff that never gets old.

4. Flight Of The Conchords – Leggy Blonde

I don’t think it comes as a surprise that I love this show. Not to mention my favourite character is Murray Hewitt. This song is just too cute and too pitiful to skip. I love it to death.

5. Morten Abel -Lydia

I even hate to admit that I am extremely embarrassed for being a Morten Abel fan (don’t tell anyone), but I am, and I have been since I was 13. This song isn’t on my starred list, but it’s on another private list (for dark secret guilty pleasures). This song always pumps me up for the day, and it makes me happy (plus the video is pretty cool).

So that’s my list. I think we all saw somewhat of a theme here (slow start, upbeat melodies, but dark themes, yeah, I know), but maybe you learnt something new about me, and maybe even yourself as well.

Leave a Reply

