Symphonious Thursday #19 and #20

So to make up for my horrible mistake of forgetting the last Symphonious Thursday I am keeping my non-promise and posting two songs today.
Firstly, the song I was supposed to post last Thursday:

I’d hate to admit that I am not actually a Jethro Tull fan. Though I love this song, it is also the only song I’ve heard from this band. I’m not even sure if I’ve heard the entire song… I don’t remember ever listening to Thick as a Brick (part 2). I’m sorry if you’re a huge Jethro Tull fan and got your hopes up. I will probably listen to more of their songs as time passes, but for the time being, this is the best song from this particular band.

The thing I love the most about it is that listening to it is almost like being on an adventure. The song changes dramatically through these 20 minutes and every part is fantastic in their own way.
You don’t have to listen to the entire song if you don’t want to, although I strongly recommend that you sit down, take 20 minutes and listen through this song at least once in your lifetime, because it’s worth it. You’ll be glad you did.
To make it simpler: my favourite parts are 0:00 – 02:28 and 15:55 – 22:41.

Now for today’s song:

It may come as a surprise or a coincidence or a matter of course that yours truly is a nerdfighter. I’ve been subscibing to the vlogbrothers for years, and even decided that Hank Green is friggin’ awesome. The fact that he made this song makes him nonetheless.
I’ve been trying to learn the bass tabs for this seemingly bassless song and trying to sing it at the same time, which is more difficult than it sounds. My goal is to know how to play the song on several different instruments, and I believe I’ll get there some day.

Quarks are, by the way, very interesting, and you can read more about them here, although Hank covered the basics pretty well in 2 minutes.

This song was introduced to me by my sister, so props to you, my beloved.

Oh, and DFTBA :)

Leave a Reply

