Symphonious Thursday #17

It has come to my attention that some of you misunderstood my earlier comments about Halloween being closer to my heart than Christmas. As true as that is, it doesn’t mean I don’t love Christmas. Instead of telling you that I hate Christmas, that comment was supposed to tell you how much I love Halloween. Like a “if you thought I loved chocolate, you should see me eat ham”, type of thing.

So I figured since this is the last Thursday before Christmas I would share with you my favourite Christmas song, and why.

I first heard this song when we sang it in school probably about 10 years ago, or more. Back then I only thought the melody was really nice and I liked it a lot. But because I had more important things on my mind, I forgot about it all together.
It wasn’t until about 3 years later when I heard the song again, but then just like last time I simply forgot the name of the song and therefore wasn’t able to track it down.
Then, just last year we bought some Christmas CD’s, including one featuring Bing Crosby’s most popular Christmas carols, and what do you know? There it was. I hadn’t heard the song in 6 years, and for the first time ever I was able to sit down and listen to the lyrics.

To be honest the lyrics aren’t that special. It is like most Christmas songs, but the thing that I feel separates it from the rest is just the moral: just be kind.
They hardly even mention Jesus and the song doesn’t base itself on the fact that we’re celebrating the birth of Christ. I wouldn’t have minded, but for me (as an atheist) I don’t celebrate Christmas to celebrate the birth of Christ, but more a time to be kind to each other, especially the less fortunate.
To me Christmas is a time when we can all put away our differences and be nice to each other, no matter what religion, no matter what political opinions and no matter what ethnical background you have.

When I say I’m an atheist I don’t mean that I despise all religions and their message. They all base themselves on the mere fact that we should treat each other with respect and be nice to each other, which is wonderful. The only reason I’m an atheist is because I don’t believe the spiritual aspect. I do believe in Jesus, as a historical person. And I do believe he was a very wonderful man, bringing kindness and goodness to people. Being nice to the less fortunate.

And that’s what I believe Christmas is all about. That’s why I think we give away presents, and that’s what most Christmas songs and most Christmas films base themselves on.

2 thoughts on “Symphonious Thursday #17

Leave a Reply

