Symphonious Friday?? #14

I’m sorry, I completely forgot about Symphonious Thursday yesterday. It might have something to do with the fact that I was working, when I don’t normally work on Thursdays and I completely lost track of which day it was. Also, I had to walk home in the cold, and I was tired and freezing and hungry and sleepy.

But to make up for the post that got lost in yesterdays hustle and bustle, here’s one to dry your tears on.

Because I’m so obviously a They Might Be Giants fan and since I tend to post a lot of their songs, I really wanted to do something different. But then I took a look at my “top tracks” on Spotify.

It’s bad enough that all of them are from the same band, but the fact that they’re all from the very same album as well is kind of embarrassing.
Anyway, why not pick one of the songs I’ve starred… and one of my personal favourites: The Big Big Whoredom.

I don’t really know why I love it so much. John Linnell plays the very simple guitar (just strumming the open guitar) on this one and it kind of works… it just barely doesn’t, and that makes the song kind of… off. That is wonderful and it leaves me with a sort of pleasant unpleasant feeling. It’s the same deal with the voices: they’re so unsynchronized and weird that it just feels strange, but very nice at the same time. It’s also kind of sad, which is a trademark of They Might Be Giants.
Interpret the song as you will… I find the “message” very confusing.

 

Leave a Reply

