What’s the dealio?

I don’t know why, but this thought struck me about ads and commercials.
It’s not unfamiliar that many of us find them extremely annoying after some time, when they show the same frigging thing over and over again. Probably worse in countries where the commercial breaks are more frequent than where I live, but I too find myself changing the channel whenever I see an ad I’ve seen countless times before. Therefore I want to ask the question: why?

Not only “why show these commercials so many times?”, but why make new ones so frequently? It’s not seldom that I see some “advanced” commercial about something that’ve got a new design, and I can’t help but asking myself why that is necessary. I would have noticed the next time I bought the product anyway and it doesn’t really make me want to buy the product any more than I did before, so what’s the point? Especially when they, again, show this over and over again.

I understand the point that showing something so many times will make it stick to our minds, especially if the product has a theme song, but I find myself more drawn to clever commercials that are shown less frequently. There was this one ad about not drinking around children and being careful with alcohol that I’ve only seen about five times, but it left such an impact on me, with it’s simple yet sad tune and the clever twist it took towards the ending.

What’s the point of making commercials if all they do is bug us? And what’s even the point of new commercials? If the point of them  are to bring us something new so that we won’t get bored with the old ones (and let me tell you, many of them have the exact same message), then why even show them so many times? It doesn’t make sense! Why not just show the old ones, just less frequently? I’d be more tempted to but the product if I only just heard about it. Plus they would save a lot of money, they’d have more time (and money) to make a clever one when they needed to and I’d be more fascinated by it when I saw it for the first time (based on the amount I watch television and the frequentness of the commercial).

I’m not claiming I have “the answer” or anything. I’m only basing this on how feel about this, but I don’t think I’m alone in getting annoyed over stupid, cheap, predictable commercials. Coca Cola Zero is a common criminal to this particular theme:

Ugh. Three commercials for the exact same thing. I’m not going to go out on a limb and argument that sex doesn’t sell, because it does. For nearly all of us. And that’s fine, but why is it necessary to make three (and there’s more) commercials where almost the exact same thing happen for the exact same product? Do they think we’re stupid? And it’s not like we could’ve missed it, because each of these ran for at least a year each. It’s not like we don’t know what’s going to happen next. It’s not like we’re going to be surprised that the hero runs off with a girl with an explosion in the background (there, I summed up all three in one sentence), but they treat us like we will be. Like we’re stupid.

There is absolutely no need to make three different commercials (and I noticed the “theme song”, by the way. The first time) for the same product. It does not leave an impact on me, and I’m sure it doesn’t on most fairly intelligent people. You can’t possibly still find it exciting. I remember the first time I saw the first one. “Oh, that’s pretty funny. Classic action connected to something that’s supposed to be manly. I get the jest”. But I can’t help but find it incredibly boring today. I’ve seen it too many times and the telly has left me as somewhat of a vegetable.

I’d be lying if I said I’m watching television regularly anymore and the sole reason for this is these extremely irritating commercials that are driving me crazy.
I guess for a conclusion I could say what’s already been said: less frequent clever commercials that’s been worked on: OK. Stupid, predictable commercials that’s been shat out by the producers put on repeat: go duck yourself.

(Also, I do realise the good example was a Norwegian commercial whilst the bad example was an American commercial. That was not intentional. I wrote this completely off the top of my head)

Leave a Reply

