Happy Halloween yesterday!

Even though Halloween was yesterday, I figured this was a good idea. I celebrated Halloween with my friends Saturday the 27th at my house and I wanted to show you everything! Unfortunately there wasn’t a lot of  photographing, so there isn’t too much to show. But if you try really hard you can just… imagine.

I had a really stressful time preparing for the party, as our dining table is too small, not only for my guests, but also for the room itself. What I did was I covered to shelves lying on top of eachother in a black paper tablecloth… it worked pretty good. Only five minutes before eating I decided “WE’RE ALL SITTING AROUND THE COFFEE TABLE!”. It’s a quite large coffee table and everybody had room, as far as I can recall, so the table I made served as a “serve yourself table”.  It is now serving as a jack-o-lantern table.

I didn’t really have to, but for some reason I always feel like doing everything myself when I’m preparing something, and this was no exception. I stressed the entire day cleaning, arranging and making food, especially making the pumpkin pie. To give you an impression of what an awfully long time I spent on this project: the recepie said 1 hour, 30 minutes. I spent 7 hours making that pie… it was a nightmare (quite appropriately). It turned out pretty awesome, though. So awesome that I made another one today.

It tasted even better than it looks. If you want the recepie you can find it here, but it’s in Norwegian. So being the generous person I am I’ve decidced to write it down right here!

For the pastry:

7 oz flour
5 oz butter
2 tablespoons of water

or

you can just be as inventive as me and use prefabricated puff pastry from the store. Most stores have them.

Preheat your oven to 200°C (392°F).

– I would suggest you blend the flour and the butter first, then add the water, but I don’t think it matters.
– Wrap the pastry in plastic foil and put it in the fridge for 30 minutes.

Wile the pastry is firming up you can start with the filling.

For the filling you’ll need:

6 tablespoons of flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
2 eggs
5 oz sugar
2 tablespoons of butter (melted)
14 oz pumpkin (puré)
10 oz coffee cream
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Firstly, if you can’t get your hands on canned pumpkin puré you’ll have to make it yourself, like I did:

– Measure up around 28 oz of raw pumpkin (if you want you can scrape some off of the inside of an already carved pumpkin).
– Steam the pumpkin until soft.
– (Monster) Mash the soft pumpkin until it recembles puré. Done.

– Mix flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, allspice, ginger and nutmeg together in a bowl.
– Melt the butter if you don’t have already liquid butter.
– Mix the butter, sugar and the eggs in an other bowl.
– Blend them together.
– Add the pumpkin puré, coffee cream and the vanilla extract.

Now back to the pastry:

– Take out of fridge.
– put on parchment paper.
– Roll out with a rolling pin (as flat as possible without breaking it)
– Lift the parchment paper over a flan dish.
– Flip the paper so the pastry falls into the flan dish.
– Fit the pastry into the flan dish.
– (optional) Make a nice crust.

– Pour the mixture into the flan dish and put it in the oven for 30 minutes.

Take it out and eat it.

I also made punch and candied apples, but I didn’t take anypictures of it. I don’t really think it’s necessary either.

There wasn’t a lot of action except from making foods and snacks, eating the foods and snacks and watching horror movies, but it was a very setisfactory evening. We also managed to avoid drama, which is a rare thing in the circle of my firends.
We all sat cramped around the coffee table watching Evil Dead 2 and Re-Animator. We rarely paid attention to the movie, but it helped a great deal to bring forth the spirit of Halloween.

This year I had a hard time settling for what to go as. I finally decided for Two-Face. I made everything myself, and I guess it shows… but here goes:

Here are some pictures of my guests’ outfits. Not all of them are included, but most of them are.

Again, sorry for the late post, but I had some problems with my computer yesterday, which prohibited me of uploading the pictures. Hope you don’t mind.

2 thoughts on “Happy Halloween yesterday!

Leave a Reply

