Symphonious Thursday #9

Last Thursday before Halloween! I can honesty and gladly say that the Halloween spirit has found it’s right place in me again. The sun is up, the ground is covered with leafs, I’m preparing for my annual party, my mum and I are going Halloween-shopping and I’m listening to Oingo Boingo. Just like last year, he he. I also made a costume that I’ll tell you about in an upcoming Halloween-post.
Now back to Oingo Boingo. Like I said last time the next band would be Oingo Boingo as well, but the song I’m posting today can pretty much be credited for introducing Halloween to me properly.

I don’t know what it is. The video certainly isn’t very Halloween-ish (with exception of the ghosts, obviously) and it doesn’t bring up any Halloween related themes. If anything it’s a love song. But just the melody and the feeling it gives really reminds me of Halloween. The first time I heard this song was probably three or four years ago. I can’t for the life of me remember how I came in touch with the song, but somehow I did, and I think that song in itself was the thing that wanted me to throw a Halloween party. Crazy, I know.

Seeing as it’s a special occasion I wanted to make like a “top seven Halloween songs” list. Seven, because it’s closer to ten than five. Don’t be saddened by the fact that more or less all of the songs on this list are from the 80’s.

Obviously “Stay” goes at #1, so here’s #2: Alice Cooper – He’s back (the Man Behind the Mask)

Not too surprising I suppose, seeing as it’s for the sixth Friday the 13th film.

#3 Joy Division – Love Will Tear Us Apart

Probably has something to do with Donnie Darko, you ask? Not on your life. Maybe a little bit.

#4 Specimen – Beauty of Poison

Look me in the eyes and tell me there’s nothing about this song that reminds you of Halloween. Hard, isn’t it? Considering it’s over the Internet, I mean.

#5 Pixies – Hang Wire

Again, I don’t really know why. It’s just got something I connect with Halloween.

#6 The Cure – Lullaby

A little slow, maybe, but eerie nonetheless.

#7 Oingo Boingo – On the Outside

One of my favourite Oingo Boingo songs, however this reminds me more of fall in general, not Halloween specifically. Also, nice fan video.

Leave a Reply

